20 May 2011

A massive electrical storm rattled the walls for an hour and a half this evening. Lights flickered and I dashed to unplug things as lightning and thunder crashed over my head. It felt more like a summer storm than a spring one. Mind you, the temperatures over the past few days have been feeling very summery too. Up to 27 degrees yesterday. Quite wonderful!

I open the front door each morning and peer out at more roses in bloom. Then I breath in and smell the inebriating perfume of R. Felicia. Then I wonder: why oh why am I going to India next week when this is going to be going on here and I’m going to be missing it? The same question occurs when I’m examining my swelling broad beans and peas. And when I’m gloating over my neatly mowned and clipped lawns and my freshly weeded drive and… oh I could go on and on. But the whole time I know that once I set off, I’ll be as excited as I possibly can be. With a little twinge of nostalgia.

About Gardens, Food & Umbria

I am a garden designer, working throughout central Italy. I have lived in Italy for over 30 years – for many years in Rome but now in the wilds of Umbria where I have fixed up one wreck of a house, am working on another, and tinker endlessly with two and a half hectares of land, some of which is my garden.
This entry was posted in MUSINGS FROM UMBRIA. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

